2021 Triple Crown Betting Odds

You are here

What is the Triple Crown in Horse Racing?

The Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes races form what is known as the Triple Crown of horse racing. With the Kentucky Derby starting the series in May, followed by the Preakness Stakes after two weeks and ending with the Belmont Stakes three weeks after that.

Take A Look At Triple Crown Betting

For horse racing enthusiasts, betting the Triple Crown provides an extra thrill that makes the race watching all the more exciting. Though Triple Crown bets are extremely difficult to win given it is run at three different distances in a short time period, horse race bettors know that placing a small bet can take them a long way if they do win. 

For example, placing a $20 bet on American Pharoah, who was the favorite to win it all in 2015 would have earned you $45.

Historically, the favorites usually don't win the race, so the smart bettors usually place their bets on horses like Carpe Diem, because he is not the favorite and has a better chance of winning the race than Stanford. 

It took a long time to see a horse beat the odds and win it all. Before 2015, when American Pharoah won, the 70's decade was the last to win the Triple Crown. "Seattle Slew" won it in 1977 and then "Affirmed" in 1978 making it a two consecutive year payday for those who went the extra mile and bet on them to win the Triple Crown.

But, there hasn’t been anything like the 40's that saw four Triple Crown winners and made horse betting huge among bettors. 

In recent times, only a few horses have come close to winning the Triple Crown, winning the first two races, but coming up short at the Belmont Stakes. Until, of course, American Pharoah went into the history books in 2015.

American Pharaoh won the American Triple Crown and the Breeders' Cup Classic. In winning all four races, he became the first horse to win the Grand Slam of Thoroughbred racing.

An estimated 22 million U.S. television viewers watched the live Belmont race broadcast. Of 94,237 winning $2 tickets sold at Belmont Park, each with a yield of $3.50 for American Pharoah's first-place finish.

2021 Triple Crown Schedule

Kentucky Derby

Churchill Downs | Louisville, Kentucky

April 30 and May 1st

Preakness Stakes

Pimlico Race Course | Baltimore, Maryland

May 14 to May 16th

Belmont Stakes

Belmont Park | Elmont, New York

Saturday, June 4 to June 6

Triple Crown Winners

  • 2018 - Justify
  • 2015 – American Pharaoh
  • 1978 – Affirmed
  • 1977 – Seattle Slew
  • 1973 – Secretariat
  • 1948 – Citation    
  • 1946 – Assault     
  • 1943 – Count Fleet
  • 1941 – Whirlaway              
  • 1937 – War Admiral           
  • 1935 – Omaha                     
  • 1930 – Gallant Fox              
  • 1919 – Sir Barton

2021 Triple Crown Odds

Get ready to enjoy the best 2021 Triple Crown betting odds at BetPhoenix Racebook Online.

Belmont Stakes Betting

2021 Triple Crown Betting Odds

BetPhoenix is Sportsbook, Live Casino, Virtual Casino, Lottery & Racebook. All in one!
Whether you prefer the adrenaline of sports betting, the excitement of horse racing or the exhilaration that only a casino can offer, we have it all! Join Us Today!

As Featured by

Contact us at 1-877-717-7747 Check our sign-up bonuses to start with a boost!Call now to get in touch with an account manager