Loading Login

2023 Cy Young Award Odds

You are here

Live Lines Odds

Loading Live Lines Menu
Loading Live Lines...

BetPhoenix offers the best MLB betting odds and bonuses. Enjoy the best MLB betting action and receive amazing bonuses when you deposit or reload your account.

The prestigious Cy Young Award Odds is given yearly to the best two pitchers in the MLB, one for the American League (AL) and one for the National League (NL). This award was created in 1956 by Commissioner Ford Frick and the Baseball Writers' Association of America. It is named in honor of Hall of Famer Cy Young, who pitched between 1890 and 1911, leaving an unparalleled legacy to the game, with 511 victories, nearly 100 more than any other pitcher in MLB history. The award was given originally to one pitcher for the whole MLB, but since 1967 it has been awarded to one pitcher in each league.

The selection process consists of a vote by all members of the BWAA and one representative for each team. Each voter paces votes for his picks from first to fifth place, and a weighted sum of these votes is used to calculate the final results. If there were to be a tie for first place, the award would be shared, but that has yet to occur. While the criteria for the selection of the winner have historically relied on the win-loss record, with current advanced statistics, the selection considers a richer set of meaningful data, such as ERA (Earned Run Average), K/9 (strikeouts in 9 innings), and WHIP (walks/hits per inning pitched). These factors make the Cy Young odds increasingly more predictable as the season progresses. 

Betting on the Cy Young Award Odds on BetPhoenix.ag is an MLB Futures bet, as you select your choice for the AL Cy Young Odds and the NL Cy Young Odds lines, to be determined by the end of the MLB regular season. This award is announced in December, and as with most season-long MLB Futures Odds, it's much better to lock in your Cy Young Award odds as early as possible to take the best advantage of the early odds. As the season progresses, the odds will change considerably.

AL Cy Young Odds

Texas Ranger's Jacob deGrom and New York Yankees' Gerrit Cole are the current favorites with +600 in the AL Cy Young Odds. At the same time, Toronto Blue Jays' Alek Manoah, Chicago White Sox's Dylan Cease, and New York Yankees' Carlos Rodon follow closely at +900.

Jacob deGrom just signed with the Texas Rangers, which is using their deep pockets to end a six-year losing streak. This will give the already two-time Cy Young winner the needed help to get more wins with an excellent supporting roster. On the other hand, Gerrit Cole had a rough start with the Yankees but finished the season strong, showing the form that the Yankees expected from him.

Current top 5 NL Cy Young Odds:

  • Jason deGrom +600
  • Gerrit Cole +600
  • Alek Manoah +900
  • Dylan Cease +900
  • Carlos Rodon +900

NL Cy Young Odds

Milwaukee Brewer's Corbin Burnes and New York Mets' Justin Verlander lead the NL Cy Young Odds with a listing of +500, while Florida Marlins' and previous winner Sandy Alcantara and New York Mets' Max Scherzer follow closely at +700.

The New York Mets traded aces, signing three-time Cy Young winner Justin Verlander the same week they lost deGrom to the Rangers. Verlander returned better than ever off Tommy John surgery and has been the AL's most dominant pitcher for over a decade. After trading leagues, he will face 2021's NL Cy Young Corbin Burnes, who has continued to produce as Brewers and shows no sign of slowing down, posting one of his best seasons yet in 2022.

Current top 5 NL Cy Young Odds:

  • Colin Burnes +500
  • Justin Verlander +500
  • Sandy Alcantara +600
  • Max Scherzer +700
  • Aaron Nola +1000

Cy Young Award Past Winners

As you would expect, the pinnacle of pitching is filled with legendary names. Historically, Roger Clemens has the record for most Cy Young Awards with 7, and the Los Angeles Dodgers hold the record for most winners produced, with twelve. 

Here is a list of the latest Cy Young Odds winners:

National League

2022 – Sandy Alcantara – Miami Marlins

2021 – Corbin Burnes – Milwaukee Brewers

2020 – Trevor Bauer – Cincinnati Reds

2019 – Jacob deGrom – New York Mets

2018 – Jacob deGrom – New York Mets

2017 – Max Scherzer – Washington Nationals

2016 – Max Scherzer – Washington Nationals

2015 – Jake Arrieta – Chicago Cubs

2014 – Clayton Kershaw – Los Angeles Dodgers

2013 – Clayton Kershaw – Los Angeles Dodgers

2012 – R. A. Dickey – New York Mets

2011 – Clayton Kershaw – Los Angeles Dodgers

2010 – Roy Halladay – Philadelphia Phillies

2009 – Tim Lincecum – San Francisco Giants

2008 – Tim Lincecum – San Francisco Giants

2007 – Jake Peavy – San Diego Padres

2006 – Brandon Webb – Arizona Diamondbacks

2005 – Chris Carpenter – St. Louis Cardinals

2004 – Roger Clemens – Houston Astros

2003 – Eric Gagne – Los Angeles Dodgers

2002 – Randy Johnson – Arizona Diamondbacks

2001 – Randy Johnson – Arizona Diamondbacks

2000 – Randy Johnson – Arizona Diamondbacks

American League

2022 – Justin Verlander – Houston Astros

2021 – Robbie Ray – Toronto Blue Jays

2020 – Shane Bieber – Cleveland Indians

2019 – Justin Verlander – Houston Astros

2018 – Blake Snell – Tampa Bay Rays

2017 – Corey Kluber – Cleveland Indian

2016 – Rick Porcello – Boston Red Sox

2015 – Dallas Keuchel – Houston Astros

2014 – Corey Kluber – Cleveland Indians

2013 – Max Scherzer – Detroit Tigers

2012 – David Price – Tampa Bay Rays

2011 – Justin Verlander – Detroit Tigers

2010 – Felix Hernandez – Seattle Mariners

2009 – Zack Greinke – Kansas City Royals

2008 – Cliff Lee – Cleveland Indians

2007 – CC Sabathia – Cleveland Indians

2006 – Johan Santana – Minnesota Twins

2005 – Bartolo Colon – Los Angeles Angels

2004 – Johan Santana – Minnesota Twins

2003 – Roy Halladay – Toronto Blue Jays

2002 – Barry Zito – Oakland Athletics

2001 – Roger Clemens – New York Yankees

2000 – Pedro Martínez – Boston Red Sox

Also check out our NFL betting odds and Super Bowl odds right here at BetPhoenix Sportsbook Online. Sign-up now!

As Featured by

Contact us at 1-877-717-7747
Check our sign-up bonuses to start with a boost!
Call now to get in touch with an account manager