Loading Login

2023 Preakness Stakes Odds

You are here

Enjoy the best 2023 Preakness Stakes Odds and horse racing betting payouts at BetPhoenix. We accept Bitcoin, register now to receive a cash bonus on your deposit.

Live Lines Odds

Loading Live Lines Menu
Loading Live Lines...

2023 Preakness Stakes Betting Guide

Along with the Kentucky DerbyBelmont Stakes, and Breeders' Cup Classic, the Preakness Stakes is a major horse race. One of the most important 1 3/16 mile-long dirt races in the world, and betting on the classic is expected to be extreme.

Now that the Kentucky Derby is over, it's almost time to enjoy betting on Preakness Stakes odds. The 2023 Preakness Stakes is scheduled for the 148th time on Saturday, May 20. It is often called "The Middle Jewel of the Triple Crown." Rich Strike, who won the Kentucky Derby, won't run in the 2022 Preakness Stakes, so he can focus on getting ready for the Belmont Stakes. This is the first time since 1985 that a healthy Churchill Downs winner has skipped the Preakness.

Preakness Stakes odds can be rewarding if you choose the right Thoroughbred and place the correct wager, and we're here to help you do just that!

Our quick guide can assist you in making the most of Maryland's largest event. 

What Kind of Preakness Stakes Bets Can I Place?

You have many options for betting on the Preakness Stakes race with all the different wager combinations. It pays to think about them all and then choose based on your bankroll, risk tolerance, and feelings about the horses in the race.

Most experienced and inexperienced horseplayers prefer to keep things simple by placing Preakness Stakes win bets on the nose. However, this is an excellent bet if you are confident in your horse and the odds are as good as your assessment of their actual chances to win. After all, your fortunes will be based on a firm belief: your horse will win the 2022 Preakness Stakes.

If you prefer a little insurance, you can opt for a lower payout by betting your runner to place or show. Place bets require your runner to finish in the top two, whereas show bets cover the top three.

You can try to predict the top few horses in the finishing order if you want to take a chance on a big payoff in the 2022 Preakness Stakes. Exacta betting entails selecting the first two runners, or you can place trifectas (first three runners) and even superfectas (first four runners) (first four).

Horse Betting Terminology

  • Win Bet: A bet on a horse to win.
  • Place Bet: A bet on a horse to come in first or second place.
  • Show Bet: A bet on a horse to come in first, second, or third place.
  • Exacta Bet: A bet on who will finish first and second in a race.
  • Trifecta Bet: A bet in which you pick the first, second, and third finishers in a race.

Plenty of Preakness Stakes odds are available if you're feeling particularly adventurous. Our BetPhoenix Customer Support team can assist you in getting started with a  $25 cash bonus when you create your accountplus you can always take advantage of our 15% weekly horse rebate on net losses.

Why Should You Bet on Preakness Stakes Odds?

There is no requirement to bet on horse racing to enjoy it, but betting and thoroughbred racing have been inseparable since birth. Many people believe that gambling on the race makes it more satisfying.

Most people won't be able to go to the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico on May 21. However, when watching the race from afar, the best way to feel fully invested in the race is to place a bet and root for your favorite horse to win.

Betting on your horse in this race can be done from thousands of miles away, so you can participate in the 147th Preakness Stakes with Betphoenix Racebook no matter where you are.

Who Are the Early Favorites?

Epicenter, who came in second at the Kentucky Derby, is the favorite to win the Preakness Stakes in 2022. His odds are 9/4. Secret Oath (6/1)Early Voting (6-1), and Simplification (8/1) are also in the running for the Preakness Stakes in 2022. Since the results of the Kentucky Derby were so shocking, this one could be one of the best betting races of the year, just like the Preakness Stakes in 2021, when longshot Rombauer won by 3 1/2 lengths.

Preparation Races for the Preakness Stakes

You do not need to be a horse racing specialist to win a wager on this Triple Crown event and one of the world's most prestigious three-year-old races.

When choosing on what horse to bet, look over the results of the other major sophomore races. Those who have demonstrated their ability to win at the highest level will have better Preakness Stakes odds to win the race.

Lineup and 2022 Preakness Stakes odds: (American Odds)

  1. Epicenter +225
  2. Zandon +500
  3. Secret Oath +600
  4. Early Voting +600
  5. Simplification +800
  6. Creative Minister +1000
  7. Un Ojo +2000
  8. Skippylongstocking +2000
  9. Ethereal Road +2500
  10. Shake Em Loose +2500
  11. Rattle N Roll +2500

Keep an eye on the latest odds to see where your horse stands and place your bets with Betphoenix Racebook, your trusted one-stop destination for online betting action.

BetPhoenix is Sportsbook, Live Casino, Virtual Casino, Lottery & Racebook. All in one!
Whether you prefer the adrenaline of sports betting, the excitement of horse racing or the exhilaration that only a casino can offer, we have it all! Join Us Today!

As Featured by

Contact us at 1-877-717-7747 Check our sign-up bonuses to start with a boost!Call now to get in touch with an account manager